The Gender Project: Call for Interviews

The following is from an author’s request and broadcast by We Happy Trans* creator Jen Richards:

The Gender Project

The Gender Project is a verbatim theatre piece in the tradition of The Vagina Monologues, The Exonerated and the works of Anna Deveare Smith.

As the Author of the play, I will be editing and distilling interviews with over 50 people who identify as transgender around the world. The subjects are to include a rich variety of ages, race, educational and socio-economic background, and gender identification.

The goal of this project is to explore and demystify the Transgender experience for a wider audience through the telling of real-life stories. Although there have been, and will continue to be, a growing number of transgender individuals in the public eye, they only represent those who have been given a platform in the media. The Gender Project aims to give voice to untold stories and explore not only differences, but cast light on what unites all people in the fluid construct of gender identity.

Call for Interviews

People who self-identify as members of the Trans community are invited to participate in interviews as part of the development of a theater project exploring the joys, challenges and everyday realities of the Transgender experience.

The goal of this project is to explore and demystify the Transgender experience for a wider audience through the telling of real-life stories. It is vital to the creators to include a diverse sample of interviewees representing a broad range of age, gender identification, socio-economic status, race and geography.

The interview will be scheduled at a time and place convenient for you. The interviews generally last about 90 minutes and will be audio recorded. All interviewees will have the opportunity to remain anonymous.

For more information or to schedule an interview, please call (646) 286-3625 or e-mail the Author.

Click share this, on the right, to LIKE this article on Facebook or TWEET it on Twitter!

Recent comments

Blog comments powered by Disqus

23 Notes

  1. rotationalgrazing reblogged this from doyouthinkimspoopy and added:
    So awesome
  2. bendingsilverspoons reblogged this from rileykonor
  3. rileykonor reblogged this from bipolarbearmisandrist
  4. bipolarbearmisandrist reblogged this from originalplumbing
  5. transbear reblogged this from thatswhatgerrysaid
  6. a-k-c reblogged this from originalplumbing
  7. doyouthinkimspoopy reblogged this from thatswhatgerrysaid
  8. originalplumbing reblogged this from thatswhatgerrysaid
  9. thatswhatgerrysaid posted this